close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Potomac Teen Writers' Group - Virtual

Registration now closed

Potomac Teen Writers' Group - Virtual

with author Neal P. Gillen

2022-12-11 11:00:00 2022-12-11 12:00:00 America/New_York Potomac Teen Writers' Group - Virtual Virtual Branch -

Sunday, December 11
11:00am - 12:00pm

Add to Calendar 2022-12-11 11:00:00 2022-12-11 12:00:00 America/New_York Potomac Teen Writers' Group - Virtual Join up with published teen writers and share your ideas and prose while you learn from your peers that you, too, can improve your writing and be published. Virtual Branch -

Join up with published teen writers and share your ideas and prose while you learn from your peers that you, too, can improve your writing and be published.

NEW: You will need to be signed into Zoom to attend this program via the web.

To sign in, you must first create a free account: https://zoom.us/signup

Once you are signed in on Zoom, return to this page and click on the link below to join the program.

---

Registration Required. You will be sent the Zoom link in advance of the program. 

You will learn the essential mechanics of the craft of writing in how to tell a story beginning with your story plot, how to develop characters and their dialogue, adding the essential tension to your story, and pacing the story to maintain the attention of your readers while describing a suitable setting for your story.

At every meeting, your efforts will be supported by your peers through their critiques of your story and their suggestions that will improve your story. You will also develop meaningful friendships in the process.

Your instructor will be Potomac author, Neal P. Gillen, who has led the Potomac Library Club for six years, the club members have had some 100 stories published.

Looking for more fun things to do at MCPL?

Take a look at these resources for learning. Don't have a card right now? No worries! Find out how to Get a Library Card.

By joining this Virtual MCPL program, you agree to abide by our rules of conduct. Library staff has the authority to remove you from this program if we deem your behavior to be inappropriate, to ensure the safety of staff and customers.

Learn about MCPL's Zoom Security Settings

Accommodation Requests

Please place your request for English-language captioning or sign language interpretation at least five days before the library-sponsored program you plan to attend. Contact the Assistant Facilities and Accessibility Program Manager at 240-777-0002 with all other accommodation requests.

GEN 1.1 01/06/2022

AGE GROUP: | Teens |

EVENT TYPE: | Writers Group |

TAGS: | Virtual Program |

Virtual Branch

Branch Manager
Maddie Hines

Hours

About the library

Upcoming events

Mon, Jan 30, 9:30am - 11:30am
This event is full

Mon, Jan 30, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Jan 31, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Wed, Feb 01, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
This event is full

Thu, Feb 02, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Feb 06, 9:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Feb 07, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Feb 07, 1:30pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Feb 08, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Wed, Feb 08, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
This event is full

Thu, Feb 09, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Feb 09, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Fri, Feb 10, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Sun, Feb 12, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Feb 13, 9:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Feb 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Tue, Feb 14, 1:30pm - 2:30pm

Tue, Feb 14, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Tue, Feb 14, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Feb 15, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Registration opens Wednesday, February 1 2023 at 9:00am

Wed, Feb 15, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
This event is full

Wed, Feb 15, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Feb 16, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Sat, Feb 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Wed, Feb 22, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
This event is full

Thu, Feb 23, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Feb 23, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Sat, Feb 25, 1:00pm - 5:00pm