Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: African-American Authors in Science Fiction: A Panel Discussion- Virtual

African-American Authors in Science Fiction: A Panel Discussion- Virtual

in Observance of Black History Month

2022-02-15 18:30:00 2022-02-15 19:45:00 America/New_York African-American Authors in Science Fiction: A Panel Discussion- Virtual Enjoy science fiction come learn about the experiences of African American authors in science fiction. Virtual Branch -

Tuesday, February 15
6:30pm - 7:45pm

Add to Calendar 2022-02-15 18:30:00 2022-02-15 19:45:00 America/New_York African-American Authors in Science Fiction: A Panel Discussion- Virtual Enjoy science fiction come learn about the experiences of African American authors in science fiction. Virtual Branch -

Enjoy science fiction come learn about the experiences of African American authors in science fiction.

NEW: You will need to be logged in to Zoom to attend this program. You can create a free account on Zoom using the sign up link on the Zoom website - https://zoom.us/signin. Once you are signed in on Zoom, return to this page and click on the link below to join the program.

In observance of Black History month, learn more about the impact and experiences of African American authors in literary genre of science fiction. This panel discussion, will include local science fiction writers Cerece Rennie Murphy, LH Moore, and K. Ceres Wright. These authors will discuss their writing experiences, genres where writers are making the most impact and the history of African Americans in science fiction.

Join our Event Here: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84117879427
Or Dial In: 301 715 8592; Meeting ID: 841 1787 9427

Looking for more fun things to do at MCPL?

Take a look at these resources for more information about science fiction and authors, Books & Authors, Literary Reference Center Plus, and NoveList Plus. Don't have a card right now?  No worries!  Find out how to Get a Library Card.

By joining this Virtual MCPL program, you agree to abide by our rules of conduct. Library staff has the authority to remove you from this program if we deem your behavior to be inappropriate, to ensure the safety of staff and customers.

Learn about MCPL's Zoom Security Settings

Accommodation Requests

Please place your request for English-language captioning or sign language interpretation at least five days before the library-sponsored program you plan to attend. Contact the Assistant Facilities and Accessibility Program Manager at 240-777-0002 with all other accommodation requests.

GEN 1.0 07/13/2021

AGE GROUP: | Teens | Older Adults | Adult |

EVENT TYPE: | Lectures and Discussions |

TAGS: | Virtual Program | Black History Month |

Virtual Branch

Branch manager
Maddie Hines

Hours
Mon, Feb 19 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Feb 20 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 21 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 22 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Feb 23 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 24 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 25 10:00AM to 6:00PM

Upcoming Events

Canceled
Thu, Feb 22, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Feb 22, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Fri, Feb 23, 1:00pm - 2:30pm

Mon, Feb 26, 9:30am - 11:30am
This event is full

Wed, Feb 28, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Feb 29, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Sun, Mar 03, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
This event is full

Canceled
Mon, Mar 04, 9:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Mar 05, 1:30pm - 2:45pm

Thu, Mar 07, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Mar 12, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Mar 12, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Mar 13, 11:00am - 12:30pm

Wed, Mar 13, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Thu, Mar 14, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Mar 14, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Thu, Mar 14, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Mon, Mar 18, 9:30am - 11:30am

Mon, Mar 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Mar 19, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Thu, Mar 21, 2:30pm - 4:00pm