Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Summer Reading Challenge Kick-Off

Summer Reading Challenge Kick-Off

Adventure Starts at White Oak Library

2024-06-15 10:30:00 2024-06-15 15:00:00 America/New_York Summer Reading Challenge Kick-Off Start your Summer Reading Challenge at White Oak Library! Because adventure starts at your library! White Oak Library -

Saturday, June 15
10:30am - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-06-15 10:30:00 2024-06-15 15:00:00 America/New_York Summer Reading Challenge Kick-Off Start your Summer Reading Challenge at White Oak Library! Because adventure starts at your library! White Oak Library -

Start your Summer Reading Challenge at White Oak Library! Because adventure starts at your library!

Kick off MCPL's 2024 Summer Reading Challenge at White Oak Library! It will be big, it will be loud! It will be adventurous! And it will definitely be fun! We'll start the day with Family Storytime, followed by a rousing and interactive performance by Luis Garay and his percussion ensemble at 11:30. We'll have crafts for children, an escape room for teens and tweens, board games, and, of course, Summer Reading signups, along with a free new book for children and teens.

Don't miss:

10:30 - 11:00 AM Adventure-themed Family Storytime for children ages 0-6 years and their caregivers

11:00 AM - 3:00 PM "Escape The Jungle" Escape Room for teens & tweens (last group at 2:30 PM)

11:00 AM  - 1:00 PM Crafts for kids

11:30 AM Luis Garay and his percussion ensemble

1:00 PM Board Games for ages 11 and up (last games must be started by 3:00 PM)

All Day: Summer Reading signups for children, teens and adults

AND Book Giveaways for those who sign up for ages 0-17 years

During the event, library staff and volunteers will be available to answer questions about the program, assist with sign-ups, and provide gameboards and a free book for children and teens who register. Can't make the event? Sign-up (or log in) online or at your local library starting May 15; then begin logging your activities and pick up your free book starting June 14.

Register for our Summer Reading Challenge here: https://mcpl.link/summer-reading

This program is generously sponsored by the Friends of the Library, Montgomery County, Inc. 

Questions about this program? Contact the branch at 240-773-9555.

Library Program Attendance (both virtual and in the branch) is limited to participants within the suggested age range of the program. Children attending an MCPL program under the age of 8 must be accompanied by an adult. Adults attending a program intended for children must have an accompanying child.

Accommodation Requests

People who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing should request English-language captioning or sign-language interpretation at least five days before the library-sponsored program they plan to attend. Contact the Assistant Facilities and Accessibility Program Manager at 240-777-0002 with all other accommodation requests.

mh 1.1 01/03/2023

White Oak Library

Phone: 240-773-9555

Hours
Mon, Jul 15 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jul 16 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jul 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jul 18 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jul 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 20 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jul 21 10:00AM to 6:00PM

Upcoming Events

Mon, Jul 22, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Mon, Jul 22, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Jul 23, 10:30am - 11:30am

Wed, Jul 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Jul 29, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Mon, Jul 29, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Jul 30, 10:30am - 11:30am

Wed, Jul 31, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Aug 05, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Mon, Aug 05, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Aug 06, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Aug 06, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Wed, Aug 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Aug 07, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Sat, Aug 10, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Aug 12, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Aug 13, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Aug 13, 5:00pm - 6:30pm

Wed, Aug 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Aug 14, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Aug 15, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Registration opens Monday, August 5 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Aug 19, 6:00pm - 7:30pm